The short answer

Use about £5,000–£10,000 whenever this site states what a tummy tuck costs in the UK. NHS.uk says it can cost from about £5,000 to £10,000 to have an abdominoplasty in the UK1, plus the cost of any consultations or follow-up care. The word “about” is in the NHS sentence. This page does not tighten it into a quote, and it does not pick a midpoint and call that typical.

The band is wide for a reason. A full abdominoplasty, a mini, an extended scar, a fleur-de-lis pattern, a reverse scar, a circumferential operation, and an apronectomy are not the same plan. Hospitals differ. What the letter includes differs. A single headline that ignores those differences is the number clinics like to print, because it is easy to advertise. It is a poor way to compare two offers.

about £5,000–£10,000

All figures are pounds sterling, checked 22/09/2026. NHS.uk states that range for an abdominoplasty in the UK, plus consultations and follow-up. It is not a clinic quote.

Other pages link here and do not print a second fee. A quote below or above about £5,000–£10,000 is not “wrong”, and this range is not a cap. It is a public description of private cost. Your letter is a contract for a named operation.

What makes up the price

NHS.uk does not split about £5,000–£10,000 into a surgeon’s fee, a theatre fee, and an anaesthetist’s fee.1 This site will not invent that split, and it will not assign a share of the band to each line. What it can do is name the lines a serious quote is expected to answer, so you can see whether a headline is a total or a starting point.

Surgeon's fee

The surgeon’s fee is the part people assume is the whole price. It is the fee for the person who operates. Ask for the operating surgeon’s name on the quote, not only a clinic brand. Ask whether a trainee may do part of the case, and who operates if the named surgeon is away. Experience is one reason two letters differ. This page does not rank surgeons and does not turn “more experienced” into a higher pound figure. It only says the name belongs on the paper.

Theatre and hospital fee

Theatre time and the hospital are often a separate line, or they are folded into a package that never names the building. Ask which hospital, whether the case is a day case or an overnight stay, and what is billed if surgery runs longer. This site does not publish a London premium. It has no sourced tariff for one.

Anaesthetist's fee

The anaesthetist’s fee is the line readers most often discover later. Ask for a name or a service, and ask whether that fee is inside the headline. NHS.uk does not state a separate anaesthetist tariff inside about £5,000–£10,000.1 Silence on this page is not evidence that a clinic has included it.

Pre-operative assessment and bloods

Blood tests and the pre-operative check are easy to leave off a headline. Ask whether they are included, where they are done, and who pays if a test is repeated or if tissue is sent for examination. A consultation can also appear on the invoice only once you book.

Follow-up appointments: how many are included

NHS.uk places consultations and follow-up care outside the range.1 A clinic can still include visits. The useful statement is a number: how many visits, over what period, and with whom. “Follow-up included” is not a number. Ask what a further visit costs after that set.

Compression garments and dressings

Ask whether a compression garment is supplied, how many, and whether a replacement is extra. Ask which medicines you buy yourself. This page does not price a garment or a prescription. The source it uses does not publish those figures.

Cost by type of tummy tuck

NHS.uk publishes one range for an abdominoplasty. It does not publish a separate price for a mini, an extended tummy tuck, a fleur-de-lis, a reverse tummy tuck, a 360 operation, an apronectomy, or skin removal.1 It also does not publish a typical operating time or a typical hospital stay for each of those plans. This table therefore uses about £5,000–£10,000 in every row. The time and stay columns say “not stated”, because inventing hours or nights would be a second kind of false precision. What does differ, and what the quote must name, is the operation itself.

One NHS.uk cost range for every operation type. Surgery time and hospital stay are not stated as separate figures on that page. Checked 22/09/2026.
Type What the plan changes £ range on this site Typical surgery time Typical hospital stay
Full Skin above and below the umbilicus; the umbilicus is moved; muscle may be tightened about £5,000–£10,000 Not stated by NHS.uk Not stated by NHS.uk
Mini Shorter, lower incision; umbilicus usually not moved; aimed at skin below the belly button about £5,000–£10,000 Not stated by NHS.uk Not stated by NHS.uk
Extended Continues onto the flanks; a longer scar than a front-only full tummy tuck about £5,000–£10,000 Not stated by NHS.uk Not stated by NHS.uk
Fleur-de-lis Adds an upright scar so skin can be taken from side to side as well as from above about £5,000–£10,000 Not stated by NHS.uk Not stated by NHS.uk
Reverse Aimed at upper-abdominal skin; the scar sits in the crease under the breasts about £5,000–£10,000 Not stated by NHS.uk Not stated by NHS.uk
360 Goes around the trunk; in the family of a belt lipectomy, not a longer front scar about £5,000–£10,000 Not stated by NHS.uk Not stated by NHS.uk
Apronectomy / skin removal Removes a hanging apron. Not planned as muscle repair or as moving the umbilicus about £5,000–£10,000 Not stated by NHS.uk Not stated by NHS.uk

A lower price written only on the mini page, or only on the apronectomy page, would be an invented number. Those pages link here. A quote can still price them differently from each other. When it does, the difference should be visible as different operations and different included lines, not as a slogan that the smaller scar is “the affordable one”.

When muscle repair for diastasis is part of it

Muscle tightening, when it is indicated, is part of how an abdominoplasty is described2. It is not given a second price on this site. NHS.uk does not publish a diastasis-repair add-on inside or beside about £5,000–£10,000.1 A written quote should say whether rectus plication is included, listed as a later extra, or not part of the plan at all.

A headline that says “tummy tuck” and never mentions the muscles has not answered the question. If you were examined for a gap between the muscles, ask for that finding to be reflected in the letter: repair included, repair not included, or repair not indicated. Those are three different operations from the point of view of the invoice. Muscle repair explains plication and links to the diastasis recti page. Neither page prints a fee.

What a written quote should list

Ten lines make two quotes comparable. Tick a line only when the document answers it. A verbal “that’s all included” is not a tick. The full checklist, with the question to ask when a line is missing, is on what a written quote should list. The ten lines are:

  1. The operating surgeon’s name, and whether a trainee may do part of the case.
  2. The anaesthetist: included or a separate fee, with a name or a service.
  3. The hospital or theatre, and whether theatre time is capped.
  4. Pre-operative tests: in or out, and where they are done.
  5. Overnight stay: day case, or a stated number of nights, and who pays for an extra night.
  6. Garments: whether a compression garment is supplied, and how many.
  7. Medication: what is supplied, and what you are expected to buy.
  8. Follow-ups: how many visits, over what period, and with whom.
  9. Revision policy: what is revised, by whom, within what period, and which costs remain yours.
  10. Complication cover: which problems, for how long, and whether readmission is included.

The operation should be named as well. A traditional abdominoplasty and a mini are not the same plan. If muscle repair or moving the umbilicus was discussed, the quote should say so. None of the ten lines is priced on this page. The only pound figure remains about £5,000–£10,000.

Costs quotes commonly leave out

Even a careful ten-line quote can leave everyday costs outside the clinical fee. This site does not attach prices to those extras. Inventing them would pretend there is a UK tariff for time off work or for scar gel. There is not, in the sources used here. The point of the headings below is to stop those costs being a surprise, not to total them.

Revision surgery: who pays

Ask for four answers on paper. Who decides that a revision is needed? How long after surgery does the policy last? Which costs are included: surgeon, anaesthetist, hospital, garment? What is excluded, including a change of mind about shape, weight change after surgery, and problems the policy links to smoking or to missed follow-up? A complication is not the same as dissatisfaction. Bleeding, infection, a wound problem, or a fluid collection are clinical events. Wanting a tighter result later may be a new operation. The quote should not use one word for both.

Time off work

Time away from work is not a line on a surgical invoice, and it is still a cost. This page does not state how many days you will need. That depends on the operation and on the job, and a single number would be false. Ask the team looking after you what they usually advise before you return to your own work, and read the recovery timeline for the shape of the first weeks. A fit note, if you need one, comes from a clinician, not from this site.

Scar treatment

Scar care, such as silicone or later treatment of a raised scar, is often absent from the headline fee. The quote will not usually include a promise about how a scar will look. How scars mature is a separate guide. Ask whether dressings in the first weeks are supplied, and treat any later scar therapy as its own decision with its own cost. Do not add a pound figure for it here.

Travel to follow-ups

Travel to the hospital and to follow-up visits is almost always yours. If the hospital is far from home, those journeys sit outside about £5,000–£10,000 and outside most surgical letters. A package for surgery abroad can include a hotel or a transfer and still say little about who sees you after you fly home. That comparison is on UK vs abroad prices. This page does not repeat a foreign fee, and it does not call any country cheapest.

Is a tummy tuck available on the NHS?

For a change of appearance, no, not as a routine. NHS.uk says an abdominoplasty is regarded as cosmetic surgery, so it is not usually available on the NHS1. The pound range on this page is a private-cost statement on that NHS page. It is not a price the NHS charges.

A documented functional problem, such as a skin fold that causes ongoing medical trouble, is a different question. Integrated care boards in England publish their own rules, and they do not all say the same thing. Whether the NHS will fund it explains how to find the policy that applies to you. This page does not promise that you qualify, and it does not suggest that private payment or travel is the next step if the NHS says no.

Private medical insurance

Cosmetic abdominoplasty is usually outside private medical insurance. Open the policy and look for an exclusion headed cosmetic surgery, abdominoplasty, or body contouring. A surgeon’s letter does not delete an exclusion that is written into the contract. A functional operation can still be excluded. Cover exists only when the insurer confirms the admission in writing.

Private medical insurance sets out what to check, without recommending an insurer. Self-pay means you pay the private quote yourself. That quote still belongs against the ten lines above, and the only pound range this site states remains about £5,000–£10,000.

Paying for it

This is not financial advice. This site names no lender and recommends no clinic payment plan. People pay from savings, from a plan offered alongside the clinic, from medical finance, or from a personal loan they arrange themselves. Those are routes you will see advertised. They are not a ranking.

If you borrow, two figures matter more than a monthly advert. The APR states the cost of credit as a yearly rate. The total amount repayable is what you would pay back if the agreement ran to the end, including the sum borrowed and the credit charges. Read both numbers on the agreement you are actually offered. The illustration below is arithmetic, not an offer and not a typical deal.

Worked illustration only. Borrowing £7,000 at 9.9% APR, repaid monthly over 36 months, comes to about £225.54 a month. The total amount repayable is about £8,119.51. No lender is named. Your agreement can be a different sum, rate, and term. A monthly advert that hides the APR and the total is not this example.

An offer described as 0% for a period is a promotional rate, not a description of the whole contract. At the end of that period the rate can change, a remaining balance can start to attract interest, or interest described as deferred can be added if the balance is not cleared. The clause decides which. A poster in a clinic is not the clause. The finance page lists the questions to ask before you sign, including what happens if surgery is cancelled. You can separate the decision to have surgery from the decision to take on a debt.

Why prices differ between clinics

Two quotes can both be honest and still not match. The operation may not be the same. One letter may include the anaesthetist, two nights, a garment, and four follow-up visits. The other may be a surgeon’s fee alone. Comparing those headlines is comparing different products.

The setting differs too. A hospital with overnight capacity is not a day-case theatre, and London is not automatically priced like a hospital elsewhere. This page has no sourced regional table, so it does not print one.

Price red flags

Five patterns are worth treating as a reason to slow down. None of them proves a clinic is unsafe. Each of them means the number in front of you is not yet something you can compare.

  1. The price is fixed before a consultation. The operation depends on the abdomen. A fee settled from a form or a photograph has not been tied to a plan.
  2. A discount that dies today. A time limit is a sales device. A genuine offer can be written down and read overnight. Pressure to pay a deposit before the ten lines are complete is a reason to leave.
  3. “All-inclusive” with no list of lines. The phrase hides whether the anaesthetist, the garment, the tests, and the follow-ups are inside the number. Without the list, inclusive does not mean anything you can check.
  4. No revision policy in writing. Who decides, how long the window lasts, and who pays the hospital are the questions that cause arguments later. A policy described on a web page can change. The page is not the contract unless it is attached to what you sign.
  5. The surgeon is not named. You are not booking a brand. If the letter will not say who operates, you cannot check that person, and you cannot tell whether the fee is for the surgeon you met.

“Cheapest” is not a target of this page; the UK-vs-abroad comparison lives on its own page linked above.

Frequently asked questions

  • How much does a tummy tuck cost in the UK?

    On this site the figure is about £5,000–£10,000, the range NHS.uk gives for having an abdominoplasty in the UK1, plus consultations and follow-up care. It was checked on 22/09/2026. It is not an NHS tariff and not a quote from one clinic. A written quote can sit outside that band.

  • Can a tummy tuck be done on the NHS?

    NHS.uk says an abdominoplasty is regarded as cosmetic surgery, so it is not usually available on the NHS1. A documented functional problem is a different question, decided by the local board, not by this page. The NHS guide explains how to read a policy. Nobody is promised funding here.

  • What is the best age for a tummy tuck?

    There is no best age on this site. Suitability depends on health, weight stability, and what the abdomen needs, not on a birthday. A number sold as the ideal age is a marketing line. The candidacy guide sets out the questions a clinician actually uses.

  • How many sizes do you lose with a tummy tuck?

    A tummy tuck is not a weight-loss operation, so a dress size is the wrong unit. It removes excess skin and fat in the area that is excised and can tighten muscle when that is part of the plan. How the contour changes, and what it does not change, is explained on the results page.

  • On a scale of 1 to 10, how painful is a tummy tuck?

    This site does not score pain from 1 to 10. Pain after surgery varies, and a single number would pretend everyone has the same recovery. Ask the team looking after you what pain relief is planned, and read the recovery timeline for what the first weeks involve. A quote is not a pain score.

  • Does the price include follow-up appointments?

    NHS.uk puts consultations and follow-up care outside the range this site uses1. A clinic quote may include a stated number of visits, or it may not. "Follow-up included" is not a number. Ask how many visits, over what period, and with whom, and get that line in writing.